Issue 112 - March 2011 - Page 11
Facebook 'See Who Viewed Your Profile' Scams - Rogue 'Stalker' Apps
Various messages posted on Facebook claim that, by following a link and installing a Facebook application, you can see who has been viewing your Facebook Profile or find out who has been stalking you.
The claims in these messages are false. All Facebook apps that claim that they will enable you to see who has viewed your profile are scams. None work as claimed. These rogue applications are designed to fool Facebook users into visiting spam survey websites, signing up for expensive SMS or online services or parting with their personal information.
Detailed analysis and references below example.
Scroll down to submit comments
Last updated: 16th February 2011
First published: 16th February 2011
Article written by Brett M. Christensen
About Brett Christensen and Hoax-Slayer
Cool ,man I cannot believe that you can see who is viewing your profile. ! I just saw my top 10 profile stalkers and I am SHOCKED that my Ex is still viewing my profile :O ! You can also see WHO VIEWED YOUR PROFILE here [Link Removed]! Its Super Cool
Wow Now you can see Who is Stalking on your Profile
Amazing! 8909 People viewed my Profile in 2010! And I just found out that My Ex was stalking over my Profile and was among top 10 viewers! I hate it seriously and I am Shocked! You can Check Who Viewed your Profile Here NOW - [Link Removed]
Most users of social network Facebook, will have seen posts that promote applications that supposedly allow Facebook users to see who has been viewing their profile. These posts often claim that you can identify stalkers that may have been visiting your profile without your knowledge. The posts link to a Facebook application that will supposedly allow the user to view a list of those who have been viewing his or her profile.
However, the claims in these posts are nothing more than lies designed to trick Facebook users into installing rogue Facebook applications. In a typical case, here is what happens if a user goes ahead and gives permission for one of these rogue apps to access his or her Facebook account:
- As soon as permission is granted, the rogue application will automatically post a copy of the message promoting the rogue app to the user's Facebook wall.
- The user will then be presented with a list like the one in the screenshot below that supposedly reveals those who have recently viewed his or her profile:
As the screenshot reveals, pictures and names on the list are obscured and "locked".
- The user is then presented with a pop-up window that claims that he or she must complete a survey to verify the account before being allowed to continue:
However, even after the user completes a "survey", he or she will be informed that the "verification" failed and that another survey must be completed. In fact, the supposed list of "stalkers" is entirely bogus. Often, no matter how many surveys the user completes, the list of stalkers will never be unlocked as promised. In other cases, the app may finally reveal a completely random list of the user's normal Facebook friends with the false claim that the list represents "profile stalkers".
The "survey" links in fact lead to suspect third party websites that attempt to trick users into signing up for ridiculously over priced "services", downloading spyware, or providing personal information that may subsequently be used by spammers to distribute unwanted advertising material. Often, users are told that they must provide a mobile phone number
in order to get the results of the "survey" and finish the verification process. However, fine print on the page informs users that, by entering their phone number, they are actually signing up for very expensive, ongoing SMS "service" that will be billed at several dollars for every text message received.
There have been many of these bogus "stalker" apps promoted on Facebook and new versions keep emerging. While details of the promotions may vary, none are legitimate. Not one of these bogus applications will actually provide users with meaningful or valid information about who has been viewing their profile. Such claims are outright lies. If you see a message promoting such an app posted on Facebook, do not click on the link provided. Do not give the application permission to access your account. And, if possible, inform the holder of the account where the message was posted that the application is bogus and should be removed.
Beware of Dubious Facebook 'Free Offer' Groups
Pages in this month's issue:
- Money Laundering Scam - Christchurch Earthquake Charity Support Job
- False Claim - Viral Video Shows 92 Year Old Ginger Rogers Dancing With Her Great Grandson
- Flu Remedy Myth - Onions Absorb Viruses and Bacteria From a Room
- False Claim - Onions are Magnets for Bacteria
- The Fly in the Urinal - Schiphol Airport Toilet Aim Improvement Technique
- Blackberry Award Advance Fee Scam
- Overblown Warning - Phone Numbers Now On Facebook
- UK Post Office Online Reward Program Phishing Scam
- Amber Alert Hoax - Mitsubishi Eclipse With Plate Number 98B351
- Hitman Payoff Scam Email
- Facebook 'See Who Viewed Your Profile' Scams - Rogue 'Stalker' Apps
- Analysis of a Hijacked Account Overpayment Scam - Boat and Trailer For Sale
- Tick Removal Advice - Liquid Soap Technique
- Does Rubbing Vicks VapourRub on Your Feet Relieve Coughing?
- Mike The Hacker Scam Emails
- DVLA Update Driver's Licence Phishing Scam
- Plea to Help Find Homes for 52 Thoroughbred Horses
- Prime Minister Howard - Muslims Out Of Australia
- Unsubstantiated Rumours Claim Michelle Obama is Pregnant
- AOL 'Billing Update Must be Performed' Phishing Scam
- Health Canada Warning - Over The Counter Drug Recall
- Do Not Call - Mobile Phones Going Public Hoax
- Facebook Grant Award Advance Fee Scam
- Post Express 'Incorrect Delivery Address' Malware Emails
- Adobe Acrobat Upgrade Phishing Scam Emails
- Mobile Phone Tips - Things You Never Knew Your Mobile Phone Could Do
- Telstra Bill Account Update Phishing Scam