Debunking hoaxes and exposing scams since 2003!





Jump To: Example    Detailed Analysis   Comments   References

'Confirm Your Apple Account' Phishing Scam


Jump To: Example    Detailed Analysis   Comments   References

Outline

Message purporting to be from Apple claims that the recipient needs to click a link to log into his or her Apple account and confirm ownership.


©Depositphotos.com/ Antonio Gravante



Brief Analysis

The email is not from Apple. The message is a phishing scam designed to trick Apple customers into divulging sensitive personal and financial data via a bogus website.

   

Share







Bookmark and Share





related Links

Related Links

Identity theft is one of the fastest growing crimes in the world. Learn how to stay safe online with Hoax-Slayer's comprehensive eBook:




Example

Please confirm your information

Confirmation of your Apple ID gives you easy access to a variety of Apple services, including the iTunes Store, Apple Online Store, iChat, and more

Verification is required to protect your account information and helps us serve you better.

Please log in [Link Removed] to verify your account:

Log in to verify account

Copyright © 2013 Apple Inc. All rights reserved. Terms of Use Privacy Policy

Subject: Update your account apple

Dear Apple Customer,

To get back into your apple account, you'll need to confirm your account . It's easy:
Click the link below to open a secure browser window. Confirm that you're the owner
of the account and then follow the instructions.

Link to bogus website removed

Before log in your account will be Confirmed, let us know right away.

  1. Reporting it is important because it helps us prevent fraudsters from stealing your
  2. information.

Yours sincerely, apple .

Thanks,
The Apple Team

Please do not reply to this email. It was sent from an email address that cannot accept

incoming messages.

Apple Account Phish example



Detailed Analysis

This phishing scam message, which is disguised as a genuine Apple support email, informs recipients that they must click a link to confirm their Apple account and regain account access.

The email was not sent by Apple as claimed and is simply a criminal ruse designed to trick Apple account holders into divulging account details and other personal information.

Those who fall for the ruse and click the link as instructed will be taken to a bogus website and asked to login with their Apple account credentials:

Apple account phish 1

Next, they will be taken to a new page that asks them to verify payment details by supplying credit card information:

Apple Account phish 2

They are then taken to another fake page that requests a large amount of personal information:

Apple Account Phish 3

Finally, they are taken to a page that claims that they have successfully confirmed their account. Clicking the "Continue and Sign Out" button redirects victims to the genuine Apple website:
Apple account Phish 4

All information submitted via the fake website can be harvested by criminals and used to hijack real Apple accounts, commit credit card fraud, and steal identities.

Apple, like many other high-profile online entities, is regularly targeted by phishing scammers. Be wary of any unsolicited email purporting to be from Apple that claims that you must update account details by clicking a link or opening an attachment.  Always login to your Apple account by entering the web address into your browser's address bar or via a genuine Apple application such as iTunes.  Apple has published information about phishing scams and how to report them on its website.

Last updated: May 12, 2015
First published: July 18, 2013
By Brett M. Christensen
About Hoax-Slayer

References
eBay 'Please Confirm Your Identity' Phishing Scam
Apple Store Account Phishing Scam
Phishing Scams - Anti-Phishing Information
Identifying fraudulent 'phishing' email






Latest Hoax-Slayer Articles



More stories!

'Internet Capacity Warning' Phishing Scam
According to this email, which claims to be from the 'Support Department' at 'Information Technology Services', your internet capacity is 70% full and you therefore need to contact support to avoid problems.
Published: July 6, 2015


Kroger 'Free Coupons' Survey Scam
Message being distributed across Facebook claims that users can receive free coupons from American retailer Kroger just by sharing a message and visiting a third party website to claim their prize.
Published: June 16, 2015


Pointless Facebook Warning - Hackers Posting Insulting Messages or Sexual Content In Your Name
'Hacker' alert messages circulating on Facebook claim that, without your knowledge, hackers are posting insulting or sexual messages that appear to come from you onto your Facebook Timeline.
Published: June 3, 2015