Debunking hoaxes and exposing scams since 2003!





Jump To: Example    Comments   References

'Your Facebook Login is Removed' Malware Email


Jump To: Example    Comments   References

According to this email, which purports to be from Facebook, your Facebook login has been removed.

The email claims that Facebook has been attacked during the last few weeks and you are therefore required to open an attached application that will generate a trusted connection to the network.

The message asks that you share the email and attachment with your friends and family so that they can also secure their Facebook accounts by running the application. Supposedly, Facebook is trying to contact all members regarding the issue but has limited email resources and therefore requires your help to spread the word.

Finally, the message warns that the attached 'utility' will only work on Microsoft based computers.

However, the email is not from Facebook and the claims that your login has been removed are untrue. Instead, the email is a criminal ruse designed to trick you into installing a trojan on your computer.

If you open the attached .zip file and run the .exe file it contains, a connection will indeed be established. But, it certainly won't be a 'trusted' one. In fact, once installed on a computer running Microsoft Windows, the malware may connect to servers controlled by criminals, download and install further malware, and perform other malicious tasks such as stealing passwords.

And, the message even tries to trick you into sending the malware to other people on your contact list.

This attack is rather crude and many if not most users will likely recognize the email as fraudulent as soon as they receive it. Nevertheless, at least few inexperienced users may be taken in by the trick and not only infect their own computers, but expose their friends and family to the malware as well.

If you receive this email, simply delete it. Facebook will never send you any sort of security application via an email attachment. Nor will it ask users to send on a security warning on its behalf. The company has plenty of resources, should it need to contact users.

Criminals commonly use messages that falsely claim to come from Facebook in their campaigns. Many such emails are phishing scams designed to steal Facebook login credentials. Be wary of any message that claims to be from Facebook and asks you to click a link or open an attached file to deal with an account issue or update information. It is always safest to login to your online accounts by entering the account address into your browser's address bar or via a trusted app.

   

Share







Bookmark and Share





related Links

Related Links

Identity theft is one of the fastest growing crimes in the world. Learn how to stay safe online with Hoax-Slayer's comprehensive eBook:




Example

Subject: Your Facebook login is currently removed.

During the last weeks, facebook was attacked so you are required to open the attached application. This will generate a trusted connection to our network and your location can be safe.

Facebook is trying to contact all our members in no time but we have limited email resources. Our company would be appreciative if you will mail the attached program to your peers and family asap.

NOTICE that you will only be able to access the utility by using a Microsoft computer


Beware Malware

Last updated: April 27, 2015
First published: April 27, 2015
By Brett M. Christensen
About Hoax-Slayer

References
PHISHING - 'Your Account is Temporarily Locked' Facebook Email






More stories!

'Internet Capacity Warning' Phishing Scam
According to this email, which claims to be from the 'Support Department' at 'Information Technology Services', your internet capacity is 70% full and you therefore need to contact support to avoid problems.
Published: July 6, 2015


Kroger 'Free Coupons' Survey Scam
Message being distributed across Facebook claims that users can receive free coupons from American retailer Kroger just by sharing a message and visiting a third party website to claim their prize.
Published: June 16, 2015


Pointless Facebook Warning - Hackers Posting Insulting Messages or Sexual Content In Your Name
'Hacker' alert messages circulating on Facebook claim that, without your knowledge, hackers are posting insulting or sexual messages that appear to come from you onto your Facebook Timeline.
Published: June 3, 2015