Kik Messenger 'Over Usage Of Names' Forwarding Hoax
Message claims that cross platform messaging service Kik has experienced an over usage of user names and warns users that they must forward the information to their entire contact list within 48 hours or their account will be deleted. The message also warns that Kik is about to start charging people for using the system unless they prove that they are frequent users by sending the same message to at least 10 people.
© Depositphotos.com/ fotoscool
The message is just a silly hoax. Users do not have to send on an absurd message to show that their account is active and avoid being charged for service. Kik is free to download and use. The message is almost identical to other hoaxes that falsely claim that messaging service WhatsApp is running out of server space and will soon start charging for sending messages. Forwarding this nonsense will help nobody.
Message from Jim Balsamic (CEO of Kik Messenger): We had an over usage of user names on Kik Messenger. We are requesting all users to forward this message to their entire contact list. If you do not forward this message,we will take it as your account is invalid and it will be deleted within next 48 hours. Please DO NOT ignore this message or Kik will no longer recognise your activation. If you wish to reactivate your account after it has been deleted,a charge of 25.00 will be added to your monthly bill. We are also aware of the issue involving the pictures updates not showing. We are working diligently at fixing this problem and it will be up and running as soon as possible. Thank you for your cooperation from the Kik team” Kik is going to cost us money soon. The only way that it will stay free is if you are a frequent user ie you have at least 10 people you are chatting with. To become a frequent user send this message to 10 people who receive it ( A ‘D’ should appear)and your Kik logo should turn Red to indicate a frequent usage
According to this message, popular cross platform messaging service Kik is having an over usage of user names and must therefore get rid of some accounts to make room. The message instructs users to forward the same message to their entire contact list to show that they are active users. And, claims the warning, if they do not share the message, their account will be deleted within 48 hours.
The message also claims that Kik will soon start charging people who are not "frequent users" of the service. Supposedly, however, Kik will stay free for those willing to prove that they are frequent users by sending the information to at least 10 other users. According to the message, once users have shared the information as instructed, the app logo will turn red to indicate that they are frequent users and they will not be charged for service.
However, the claims in the message are utter nonsense. Kik is not running out of user names and people will not lose their accounts of they do not send on the message. Nor is Kik about to start charging as claimed. Kik is free to download and use, although the company does offer optional in-app purchases. The company has dismissed the messages and others of its ilk as hoaxes via a post on the Kik website
In fact, the message is nothing more than an alternative version of other hoaxes
that have targeted users
of messaging service WhatsApp. The WhatsApp versions
also falsely claim that users must send on a message to avoid account deletion or impending service charges.
And both the Kik and WhatsApp hoaxes are derived from even earlier hoaxes that targeted Blackberry
, and several other service providers.
No legitimate service provider is ever likely to require users to prove their activity levels by sending on a ridiculous message. Such claims are a common theme in hoax messages. Any claim that you must send on a message to your friends to keep your account active or avoid a charge is almost certain to be a hoax.
Last updated: October 16, 2013
First published: October 16, 2013
By Brett M. Christensen