Debunking hoaxes and exposing scams since 2003!

Hoax-Slayer Logo

SURVEY SCAM - 'See Who Watched Your Profile'


Outline

Facebook post claims that you can click a link to 'see who watched your profile'.

See who watched profile
© Depositphotos.com/ Aquir014b

Brief Analysis

The post is a scam that attempts to trick you into spamming your friends and providing your personal information via dodgy online surveys. You will NOT get to see who watched your profile no matter how many surveys you complete.

Example

Please follow the instructions and invite all your friends, so that you can see who visited your Facebook Profile! Click On Invite Button!!!
Hit On Like Button


Detailed Analysis

Facebook Post Promises That You Can See Who Watched Your Profile

According to a post currently being spammed out across Facebook, you can see who has been watching your profile by clicking a link in the post.

Clicking the link opens the 'see who watched your profile' app page. The page asks you to follow instructions that will supposedly give you access to a list of people who have visited your Facebook profile.

Post is a Survey Scam

However, the post and associated app page are part of a typical Facebook survey scam.

You are first instructed to hit a button that will send a message to all of your friends inviting them to get a profile viewer as well. This effectively tricks you into spamming the scam post across Facebook.

You are also asked to click a 'like' button on the page. However, by clicking, you are actually liking a completely unrelated Facebook Page. This is just a sneaky way of building likes for the target Page.

After you have completed these steps, you will be taken to a second page that appears to host a list of users that have viewed your profile.

However, the list will be greyed out and you will be told via a popup window that you must complete and 'offer' to unlock the profile viewer content.

Links in the popup lead to several offers hosted on third-party websites. Some of the offers ask you to provide your mobile phone number to go in the draw for various prizes. But, fine print on the page will state that, by entering your phone number, you are signing up for an expensive SMS 'quiz subscription' that is charged at more than $6 per text message received.

Fees for these SMS subscription services can add up very quickly and they are often very difficult to unsubscribe from.

Other offers may entice you to provide your name, email, home address, and phone details. But, this information will be shared with third party marketers and may later be used to send you unwanted emails and letters and to make telemarketing calls.

And, no matter how many offers you participate in, you will never get to see the supposed profile viewer app, which does not actually exist.

Just One of Many 'Profile Viewer' Facebook Scams

This is just one in a long series of similar rogue app/survey scams that have been hitting Facebook users for several years.

Do not trust any message that claims that you can get to see who has been watching your Facebook profile. These claims are not legitimate. If you receive such a message, do not click any links that it contains.





Last updated: October 13, 2014
First published: October 13, 2014
By Brett M. Christensen
About Hoax-Slayer

References
What is a Facebook Survey Scam?
'Profile Visitors for Facebook' Rogue App and Survey Scam
Facebook 'See Who Viewed Your Profile' Scams - Rogue 'Stalker' Apps