Debunking hoaxes and exposing scams since 2003!





Jump To: Example    Detailed Analysis   Comments   References

HOAX: 'Skype Very Crowded - Deleting Inactive Users'


Jump To: Example    Detailed Analysis   Comments   References

Outline

Message supposedly sent by the creator of Skype claims that Skype will be closing on March 15 because it is 'very crowded'. According to the message, users must send the warning to at least 15 other Skype users to prove that they are active and prevent their account from being 'deleted without hesitation'.


© Depositphotos.com/ agencyby



Brief Analysis

The message is just a silly hoax. Skype is not closing down and it is not deleting the accounts of people who do not send on the message. This is just a Skype flavoured version of a long arade of similar hoaxes that have targeted other Internet companies, including Facebook, Yahoo, and WhatsApp

   

Share







Bookmark and Share





related Links

Related Links

Identity theft is one of the fastest growing crimes in the world. Learn how to stay safe online with Hoax-Slayer's comprehensive eBook:




Example

Hi, this is a message from the creator of Skype and tell you a little about what will happen to Skype on 15 March. Please do not send it back to the person you received it from. Dear members of Skype, Skype will be closed on 15 March, because it gets very crowded. There were many users complain that Skype will be very slow. Records show that there are a lot of active Skype users, as well as many new members. We will send this message around to see if members are active or not. If you are active please send to 15 other users using Copy + Paste to show that they are still active. * Those who do not send this message within 2 weeks will be deleted without hesitation to make more space. Send this message to all your friends, to show that they are still active and not deleted. The founder of Skype ..

Founder of Skype...Remember to send this to 15 other people so your account wont be delete


Detailed Analysis

Message Claims Skype Closing Down on March 15

According to this supposed warning message, Skype will be closed on March 15 because it has become very crowded.

After warning that Skype will close, the message then claims that you can save your account by sending the same message on to at least 15 other users. Supposedly, by sending the message, you prove that you are an active Skype user. But, advises the message, if you do not send the warning to others within two weeks, your Skype account will be 'deleted without hesitation'.

Message is Just a Silly Hoax

However, the message is an absurd hoax. Skype is not closing down.  Nor do you have send on a message to prove you are an active user and save your account.

The message is a juvenile prank designed to fool people into passing on a silly and utterly pointless warning

In fact, the message is just one more in a long sorry series of similar hoaxes that have falsely claimed that a particular service will delete your account if you do not send on a warning. Alternative versions have targeted Facebook, WhatsApp, Yahoo, MSN, and many others.

If you receive a message claiming that a particular service will delete your account if you do not send on a warning, you can rest assured that the message is a hoax.



Last updated: January 7, 2015
First published: January 7, 2015
By Brett M. Christensen
About Hoax-Slayer

References
Facebook Deleting Inactive Users Hoax - 'Facebook Overpopulated'
WhatsApp 'Servers Really Full' Hoax
Yahoo Account Deletion Hoax
MSN 18 Contacts Hoax






More stories!

'Internet Capacity Warning' Phishing Scam
According to this email, which claims to be from the 'Support Department' at 'Information Technology Services', your internet capacity is 70% full and you therefore need to contact support to avoid problems.
Published: July 6, 2015


Kroger 'Free Coupons' Survey Scam
Message being distributed across Facebook claims that users can receive free coupons from American retailer Kroger just by sharing a message and visiting a third party website to claim their prize.
Published: June 16, 2015


Pointless Facebook Warning - Hackers Posting Insulting Messages or Sexual Content In Your Name
'Hacker' alert messages circulating on Facebook claim that, without your knowledge, hackers are posting insulting or sexual messages that appear to come from you onto your Facebook Timeline.
Published: June 3, 2015