'Top Three Friends' Facebook Spam
This message claims that you can click a link to find out your top three friends on Facebook.
After clicking the link, you are asked to give an app permission to access your account. Once permission is given, the app can access your friends list and send notifications.
Next, you are told you must provide your information via a 'prize entry' page before you can see your 'top friends'. Entry forms on the site ask for a large amount of personal details, including name, contact address, and phone numbers. But, fine print on the page explains that the information you enter will be shared with third party marketers.
Thus, you may soon begin receiving unwanted and annoying marketing phone calls, emails and surface mail.
You are also encouraged to share the app page with all of your Facebook friends thereby spreading the spam message even further.
After you have provided the requested information, the app may or may not randomly display three people as your 'top friends'. However, you probably already know who your 'top friends' are without the need to install a spammy and intrusive app.
- What is a Facebook Survey Scam?
- 'Profile Visitors for Facebook' Rogue App and Survey Scam
- Facebook 'See Who Viewed Your Profile' Scams - Rogue 'Stalker' Apps
Last updated: January 6, 2015
First published: January 6, 2015
By Brett M. Christensen